Sunless 97 - Aurora I

Sunless 97 – Aurora I

February 7, 2013  |  Featured, Music, Music Featured, new

Sunless 97 had their new track Aurora I première on Huw Stephens’ Radio 1 show last night and, quelle surprise, it’s just delightful.

For those of  you who haven’t come across Sunless 97 in your own resplendent musical journeys, they are Edward Leeson (aka Edward Eke, aka Ed Larrikin, formerly of Larrikin Love) Alice Davies and bassist Matthew McGough.

Getting together late 2011, the band have since released some rather fine tunes, in particular Body Weather, which made number 3 on my top 10 tracks of 2012.

Sunless 97 have continued this trend with their release of Aurora I, a delectable smorgasbord / ploughmans of a song which begins with a tease of a muted guitar riff and Morse code percussion overlaid with some soft, velvety keys and ends with a straight funk bass line and sharp cascading synths.

The path the song takes is just as diverse as the points where it begins and ends, with myriad interjecting melodies and effects creating a deep, lush soundscape to get lost in.

The track is available on vinyl or digitally on 25th March through Not Even but you can listen to it below right now you bless-ed little devils.




About the author

Part time writer and music maker, full time bozo.

Leave a Reply